top of page

ABOUT: Caregiver Resource Program

Caregiver Resources

Get free help in finding resources if you’re caring for seniors who need help with daily living activities or caring for anyone suffering from conditions such as a traumatic brain injury, dementia, stroke, or Alzheimer’s.

Family Caregiver Support Program

Valley Caregiver Resource Center (VCRC) offers a unique, comprehensive umbrella of services designed to help elders and their families master the challenges that accompany the aging process. As long-standing advocates and collaborators in preserving the health and quality of life of others, our aim is to promote personal and community well-being.

 

Valley Caregiver Resource Center system helps families and communities master the challenges of caring for adults with brain impairing conditions, such as Alzheimer’s disease, stroke, Parkinson’s and traumatic brain injury.

 

To be eligible for services, a client must be caring for an adult with a cognitive impairing condition that occurred after the age of 18 (for example: dementia, Alzheimer’s disease, stroke, traumatic brain injury, Parkinson’s disease), or someone 60 years and older in need of assistance with daily living activities (services for those caring for someone 60 and older are available in various counties where VCRC has the Family Caregiver Support Program).

Valley Caregiver Resource Center is proud to be a part of the California Caregiver Resource Center (CRC) system which consists of 11 sites across the state. The CRC's support unpaid family caregivers by providing essential services.

 

To connect with support wherever you live, visit:

caregivercalifornia.org

Services

Family Consultations

We assist caregivers in exploring immediate and long term care options, and provide support and guidance in decision making.

Family Counseling

Short-term counseling with family members is available to help identify problems and explore solutions. Assistance is given in obtaining on-going counseling when needed.

Support Groups

In addition to facilitating our own support groups, we provide referrals to other existing support groups and assistance in establishing groups where needed.

Legal & Financial Consultations

A free consultation is available to our clients with an attorney experienced in issues relevant to their caregiving. The attorney will provide advice in such areas as establishing durable powers of attorney, conservatorship, financial planning and clarification of community property laws.

Respite For Caregivers

Subsidies are available for in-home care and day care that assists families caring for an adult at home.

Speakers Bureau

VCRC will provide speakers on caregiver and senior-related topics to any interested group. We welcome opportunities to share this information with professional associations, community groups, senior centers, faith-based organizations, unions, women’s groups, political clubs, benevolent organizations, and any other interested group. There is no charge for this service. Call our office staff for more information or to schedule a presentation.

Training & Conferences for Families and Professionals

Specialized education about research, diagnosis, behavioral management, stress reduction, and other issues related to caregiving can be arranged.

Community Outreach

We offer a variety of services to seniors and their caregivers in the Central Valley through our Caregiver Resource Program. Our services cover Fresno, Kern, Madera, Kings, Mariposa, Merced, Stanislaus, Tulare and Tuolumne. We also organize educational presentations on our services through community outreach.

CONNECT WITH US

Caregiver Resource Specialists

Lizzie Avila - Lead Family Consultant:

eavila@valleycrc.org

Chris Calderon - Intake Specialist:

ccalderon@valleycrc.org

Rosie M. Martinez - Outreach Coordinator:

rmartinez@valleycrc.org

Charity Tokash - Education / Development Coordinator:

ctokash@valleycrc.org

Sierra Fimbrez - Data Entry Specialist:

sfimbrez@valleycrc.org

Nugesse Ghebrendrias - Media Specialist:

nghebrendias@valleycrc.org

Contact Information

Kevin Alvey - Program Manager:

Phone: (559) 224-9154 or (800) 541-8614

Email: kalvey@valleycrc.org

Satellite Offices

Modesto Office

1101 Standiford Ave. #A-10

Modesto, CA 95350

(209) 846-9635 or (800) 541-8614

 

Bakersfield Office

1701 Westwind Drive #127

Bakersfield, CA 93301

(661) 873-4000 or (800) 541-8614

Family Consultants

Nancy Yang: nyang@valleycrc.org

Nugesse Ghebrendrias: nghebrendrias@valleycrc.org

Lizzie Avila: eavila@valleycrc.org

Gina Torres: gtorres@valleycrc.org

Nancy Simon: nsimon@valleycrc.org

Sua Lopez: slopez@valleycrc.org

Lorena Perez: lperez@valleycrc.org

Roxanne Mitchell: rmitchell@valleycrc.org

bottom of page